Things That Make me Miss America

press play-

Don’t get me wrong, I love Ireland, but there are a few things that you just can’t do here. It isn’t too hard to adapt to certain things, but (at least for myself) it’s impossible to adapt to not being able to snowboard. Skateboarding is a satisfactory remedy, but in a country where it rains every half an hour, skating isn’t much of a prospect either! So I’m forced to sit here watching snowboard edits on the internet, and checking Thrasher.com or TheCatfishChronicles like a drunk making his twice-daily run to the corner store. The eagerness, the click, then the let down-it’s a recurring cycle that I go though every time I’m bored on the internet checking the same websites and finding nothing. The internet can’t keep up with me, or maybe I’m not looking in the right places. Either way, it’s odd that instead of finding a parking garage where I can skate, I use most of my time looking at videos online- going nowhere. Writing this is actually inspiring me to go down to the basement of my apartment complex to skate for a bit.

Or at least it was until I got distracted watching this (mute it and keep listening to aphex twin, not that the doors aren’t great…)

Louif and Phil Jaques have that classic Canadian style, solid trick selection and the most textbook execution possible. Watching it makes me think about getting my style that proper, which gets me thinking about snowboarding, picturing it, thinking about adjustments that I can make to things that I can’t even do outside my¬†imagination. Awesome, right? You care…

FOUNDATION‘s video was great.
THIS PHOTO is great.
THIS ARTICLE is great- I mean seriously a catapult? That’s almost better than a toy train!
THIS JASON DILL CLIP is so cool!
THIS DIV FOOTAGE is sweet and hillarious.

And those are the things that make me want to be in America. The food here is just as good/bad depending on how you feel about food. School is no better/no worse. The girls have cool accents I guess…

 

~ by evanlitsios on November 2, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
